A COMMUNICATION BLOG WHERE OPINIONS POP

‘About Me’ Continued

Join me in exploring the exciting world of communication, new social media, and organizations! Oops, this introduction is dull. Let me try again. Here goes:

It has been three years when I have first found myself confused on what major to take in college. The hardest question I ever encountered in my 4th year in high school was not about Trigonometrical Functions, a Thermodynamic law, or a case study in Economics. It was about what do I want to be in the future.

I can vividly remember this seminar of ours about choosing careers. The facilitator asked us, one by one, on what our dream job is. I actually had nothing concrete to say to him that time, but I just said, “I want to be an interpreter”. “So you must be a linguist!”, he replied.

Too bad for me, I did not qualify for a degree program directly related to languages or linguistics. But too good for me, I landed in a degree program I never realized would open countless career opportunities that I had never thought of before. This degree program I am talking about comes in the words of ‘Organizational Communication (OrCom)’. Perhaps, what you are thinking can be summarized in one word: ‘Huh?’.

I am now in my 4th year and I am proud that I do not regret taking up the course-and staying with it. Some of the blockmates I am close with in 1st year have already shifted to other courses, have been pursuing their own ‘callings’. As I write this entry and take a glimpse from the past, I am proud to be where I am now.

Block 9 (Girls) Batch 2007

I would like to summarize here my journey being an OrCom student but it seems like everything could not be put to words. I am an OrCom student- and I am making a blog for our Organizational Communication 152 class (Communication Trends and Styles).  This may include blog posts required of me to write, articles I have to analyze, comments that I need to make. But above all, all of these encapsulate my whole OrCom being.

I do not forget that I still want to be an interpreter, but being an OrCom professional is another dream I have added in my list.

Isn’t it more fun to explore a field of study when you have the heart for it?

Leave a Reply

